AGENDA ITEM: #2

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Debbie Racca-Sittre, Interim City Clerk

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Citywide

SUBJECT:

Consideration of At-Large Applicants to the Airport Advisory Commission (19 Slots)

SUMMARY:

The Transportation and Mobility Committee will review and recommend applicants for 19 available slots to the Airport Advisory Commission (AAC). The Airport Advisory Commission (AAC) is comprised of 19 members appointed by City Council At-Large for staggered two-year terms. At the October 19, 2021 meeting, the Transportation and Mobility Committee interviewed five candidates from a short-listed list for the Business Category of the Airport Advisory Commission. At the October meeting, the Committee moved to consider three of those interviewed as part of the recommended slated at the November 16, 2021 Transportation and Mobility Council Committee meeting.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

The purpose of the AAC is to advise the Aviation Director on matters affecting the San Antonio Airport System and air transportation initiatives. The AAC membership includes representatives from the following categories:

- One Airport Business Lessee;
- One Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG) Representative; and
- Three Aviation Industry representatives;
- Four Business Community Representatives
- Six Community Representatives
- One Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Representative.
- One Ground Transportation Industry Representative;
- Two Travel and Tourism Industry Representatives;

The City issued two press releases for openings for the AAC on January 22, 2020 and October 16, 2020 which were advertised on the City's website, the Airport and City's social media sites and TVSA. The Office of the City Clerk continuously accepts applications for the AAC.

The AAC membership includes has 13 members and 6 vacancies.

ISSUE:

At the October 19, 2021 meeting of the Transportation and Mobility Committee, the members interviewed five of seven selected applicants for the Business Category after two of the selected applicants declined to be interviewed.

- 1. Marsha Hendler, current Commission member
- 2. Francisco Cruz, current Commission member
- 3. Matthew Starr
- 4. Kevin Crawford (withdrew from consideration)
- 5. David Young
- 6. Niti Vanee (withdrew from consideration)
- 7. Patricia Gibbons

The Committee deliberated during Executive Session and reconvened. The Committee approved the motion to move forward with three of the five candidates, Marsha Hendler, Francisco Cruz, and Matthew Starr, to the full slate of recommended Airport Advisory Commission members for consideration with the recommended slate of Airport Advisory Commission members listed below for consideration at the November 16, 2021 meeting.

Subcommittee's List of Recommendations:

Airport Business - Lessee (1 representative)

- Reappoint Ed Onwe for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023. *Alamo Area Council of Governments* (AACOG) (1 representative)
- Reappoint Diane Rath for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023. *Aviation Industry* (3 representatives)
- Reappoint Mark Fessler for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022.
- Reappoint Aurelina Prado and Charnelle Chin for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023.

Business Community (4 representatives)

- Appoint Matthew Starr and another candidate for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022.
- Reappoint Francisco Cruz and Marsha Hendler for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023.

Community (6 representatives)

- Reappoint Deborah Omowale Jarmon for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022.
- Appoint Rogers Dillard and William Pat Garrison for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022.
- Appoint Ronnell Bright, Rami Motawea and Amy Shaw for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023.

Federal Aviation Administration (1 representative)

• Reappoint Earl Jackson Jr. for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022.

Ground Transportation (1 representative)

• Reappoint John Grisell for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022.

Travel and Tourism (2 representatives)

- Appoint Jonathan Salter for a term initiating on March 19, 2020 and expiring on March 18, 2022.
- Reappoint Marco Barros for a term initiating on March 19, 2021 and expiring on March 18, 2023.

FISCAL IMPACT:

This is a briefing only.

ALTERNATIVES:

This is a briefing only.

RECOMMENDATION:

This is a briefing only.